65.Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

There is a thought provoking debate about whether education can limit our minds or free our minds. From my perspective, education can give us freedom in the process of restraining our spirits.

As a social institution, schools play a role in institutionalizing citizens in order to create and sustain a stable social unit. Like the madhouse Foucault mentioned in Madness and Civilization which is designed to eliminate insanity and sin, schools are to define morality and are devoted to cultivating students with high moral standards. This is to say, those common sense involving what is morality and conventional as well as widely accepted rules are defined by education from schools. As Social Contructionism pointed, social institutions dominate the practice of culture on a day-to-day basis and individuals’ power to oppose or reconstruct important social institutions including schools is limited. For example, we believe patriotism is a kind of virtue, but it is not born to be a virtue, but is constructed to be a virtue by social institutions and then we ordinary people just take it for granted. In conclusion, education continuously restrain our minds by constructing common sense, dictating the rule of the game and correcting the deviant behavior.

At the same time, it is restraints that give us more freedom. According to Rousseau, in the state of nature humans were unwarlike because of their undeveloped reasoning powers and sense of morality and responsibility. When, however, people agreed to surrender individual freedom of action to the general will and establish laws and government, they then became more civilized and there were less conflicts happened. On the one hand, people lost some of their freedom and free will, but on the other hand, they attained more freedom thanks to the stable community. The freedom to steal and to plagiarize which violate others rights is the freedom that we are not supposed to have. By restraining those behavior, we can have the freedom to speak not to worry about name-calling, we can have the freedom to protest not to worry about sticks. Therefore, reasonable restraints can endow us with more freedom.

Back to the point, restraining students’ minds and freeing their minds are not contradictory, instead, they are happened at the same time in the process of educating. Take communication study as an example. When teachers teach students basic theory in the field of communication study like the cultivation theory, a theory holding that the media generally presents an image of the world that does not reflect reality, they have to restrain students’ focus on the particular theory, and students have to follow the train of thought of the teacher rather than contemplating on their own experience that may have conflict with the theory. However, on the other hand, when students successfully grasp the theory, they can utilize the theory as a framework to illustrate a large amount of phenomena in their daily life. For example, people who like watching gang movies tend to believe there are more cases like theft and robbery happened than those happened in reality because media has the power to manufacture an imagined reality. Therefore, although students may be restrained in the process of learning, after understanding the knowledge, they can develop more comprehensive understanding of the inherent reason of one phenomenon and the true nature of the society.