adults to wear seat belts

The statement states that the law should not force adults to wear seat belts while they are driving or riding cars, as long as they know the risks and the dangers of driving without seat belts. Personally, I disagree with that statement. I believe the law should force the people to wear their seat belts. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, when people do not wear their seat belts, they put them self in a great danger and they may harm themselves. The law has the right to prevent the people from hurting themselves even if that was their freely choice. As many people do not what are good for them or may harm them self because of depression or other reasons. For example, the government has the right to prevent the people from taking drugs even when they know its effects on them. Likewise the government should prevent the people from harming themselves by forcing them to use seat belts.

Second, Some people do not wear the seat belts because they are lazy or they just forget to wear it even when they know how important is to wear it. They are gambling with their lives because they forget to wear it. Here comes the duty of the government, to make sure that nobody forgets their seat belts by forcing a bill on anyone who does not wear it. For instance, if you forgot that there are sharks in the sea and you want to go fishing in there. You need someone to remind you with that so you will not put yourself in danger. That is the role of the tickets when you forget to wear seat belts.

In summary, I strongly disagree that the people should be free to choose if they want to wear seat belts or not. Because if the people want to hurt themselves that does not mean we should let them do. Furthermore, the government should remind the people of the importance of wearing the seat belts by forcing a bill on anyone who do not wear them.