art work must have meaning which most people can understand

The statement states that art work must have meaning which most people can understand in order to have high quality and a great value. As if the people cannot understand the hidden meaning of the art, then it failed in consider very important part in any valuable work. Personally, I disagree with this statement because the merit of the art defined by many standards other than being understandable by ordinary people, I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, The value of the art determined by how different this art is than any other work and the deep meaning of that art, so even if the art was not understandable by most people and was different in many ways than any other art and also has very deep thoughtful meaning, it would still has great value. For example, many arts through the history were underestimated in their time because the people could not understand their meaning, but after a small period of time with more educated people started to analyze the old art, that art became famous and more people start to consider it as valuable art.

Second, a lot of arts with great value are not understandable for most people because their meaning depends on specific culture or a certain event in the history which is not well-known for most people. For instance, Abo Alalaa who is unknown poet made a lot of poems with great value about Hebron city, those poems were not understandable for most of the people who did not live or visit the city, and because in his poems he always talked about how the people built the city and he also talked about the city’s traditions.

Of course, some people argue that if the art is not understandable then few people would consider watch or listen to it. However, the value of the art is not determined by the number of people who see it, but with the content of that art.

In summary, I strongly disagree that art work must be understandable by most people in order to have a great value. As the value of the art is determined by the deep meaning of the art, and how this art is different than any other work in the business. Furthermore, many arts are not understandable because they belong to specific culture which is known to few people.