All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country

It is true that studying abroad has become more and more popular in contemporary world. Some people insist that spending time on an abroad semester is not worth the time and additional cost to a student, while others maintain that most students would benefit from perspective expansion and academic development over the time studying abroad.

The first and foremost reason that many students decides to study oversea is the opportunity to interact and communicate with people from another part of the globe. In the context of international integration, the importance of effective communication with people worldwide is undoubtable. It is worth to immerse oneself in a new country, where students would learn to adapt with the country, and find the common sense with natives. The aboard semester may also offer lasting engagement and auspicious future career. Besides, going oversea is an ideal way to learn and practice a new language, which is mandatory for globalized economy.

Furthermore, participating in an aboard program drives exposure to new ideas, as well as new insights on common ideas. People around the world inherently possess different educational backgrounds and political ideologies, and thus, students would evaluate and tackle problems under a whole new scope, which may bring the world about unparalleled progressions. The world has witnessed a plenty of groundbreaking inventions which are created by the collaboration of scholars from different countries. Although living abroad breeds culture shock firsthand, students have a chance to broaden their mind, reevaluate their worldview and then look a phenomenon with multi perspectives. These advantages would lay a sound foundation for student’s future and lasting throughout their career.

Finally, studying at aboard university may ameliorate academically students in various fields. For example, India and American are top-tier nations to study STEM, especially computer engineer and mathematics; apart from that, British is a great place to study law and physiotherapy. Hence, students are able to learn from lecturers who expert in their profession, that would results in great studies under a shorter time. However, studying abroad should not be obligated but optional, due to it definitely depends on student’s major. For instance, Vietnamese should study Vietnamese literature in Vietnam but not elsewhere.

By and large, studying abroad is not without shortcomings. They can cause financial burdens, and participants must go miles away from home for a semester. Nevertheless, the pros of such program outweigh the cons. Students would be equipped various skills and get a better education, which ensures an auspicious future.