All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Participating in a study abroad program in college allows students to witness and actively engage with communities outside their own. Studying abroad hinders borders to build cross-cultural relationships. College students should universally partake in a study abroad program for at least one semester to enrich their cultural and academic background.

By offering a study program abroad, students will get the opportunity to explore diverse cultures, cuisines, and customs not known to them in their current university hometown. A specifically tailored program for a student’s degree will be worthwhile. For example, a student learning Spanish will benefit from a study tour in Peru. The student will learn about Peru’s rich history of the battles between the Pizarro brothers and the Incan empire while eating guinea pig in the streets of Cusco. Visiting embellished cathedrals and backpacking to Machu Picchu, the eager student gains a deeper cultural perspective of life outside the confines from a small, college town. The student can practice and polish his or her conversational skills. This will give the student a greater appreciation for their chosen area of study because they will utilize their expertise in a real-world context, not simply in a lecture hall on Monday mornings.

Meanwhile, students, as cliché as it sounds, will create long-lasting memories during a semester abroad. By interacting and engaging with different peoples, the students develop cultural awareness. This cultural awareness leads to a more empathetic society. Therefore, by encouraging all students to participate in a study abroad program, universities are promoting a more empathetic and culturally in-tune population. Studying abroad disrupts cultural and language barriers to create long-lasting relationships and memories.

Many students do not get a chance to study abroad due to their high costs. Meals, extra train tickets, and plane rides add up quickly, and one must not forget about souvenirs. Although studying abroad is quite expensive, it would still be advantageous for students to still venture off to new lands, as the cultural and learning experience is invaluable. In addition to becoming a more well-rounded global citizen, students who study abroad are more likely to be hired for a job position. Employers admire applicants who have international experience. Thus, benefits studying broad outweigh the costs over-time.

Overall, university students would benefit from partaking in a journey abroad. Through improving one’s area of study in its cultural context, learning life-long lessons, and making inescapable relationships, students become a more open-minded society. Possibly, studying abroad is the key to a better future for subsequent generations.