Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim affirms that students should persistently question those whose tutelage they are under rather than accepting ideas indifferently. I agree with the above assertion. As Albert Einstein said, “Blind belief in authority is the greatest enemy of truth.” Society cannot progress without some magnitude of dissent that is incompatible with the beliefs and customs of the day.

By completely obliging to teachings, students risk being ill-informed citizens. Students may fall to indoctrination with certain agendas that are morally corrupt. Take for example, Nazi Germany during World War II. Hitler garnered support by insinuating a hate-filled agenda motivated by racial supremacy. Even in schools, students were imbibed with propaganda. Posters that lauded motherhood for a certain race inundated the streets of Nazi Germany. Hitler’s followers bolstered his mission, which consequently murdered 6 million innocent lives. Without dissent, corruption and unchecked authority can lead chaos and destruction.

Moreover, dissent and disobedience may lead to reformation that enhances that rights of others. Take for example the Women’s Rights Movement. Women in the early 20th century were taught to be the caretakers of the home. Men and women lived in separate spheres. One of the first champions of female suffrage was Elizabeth Cady Stanton. In the early 1900s, she hosted the Seneca Falls Convention in New York City. Here, Stanton and fellow suffragettes advocated for an extension of universal rights to women. They revised a version of the Declaration of Independence to state that all men and women are created equal. Stanton and other women were unsatisfied by the scope of what women could and could not participate in. This shows how rebuking contemporary beliefs led to progress for the better of society.

Furthermore, apathetic acceptance leads students to fall under a trap where history is often ascribed by the winners, causing groups to become marginalized. For example, students are taught that “Christopher Columbus sailed the ocean blue in 1492.” Thus, the discovery of the New World and America began. However, America had many inhabitants long before Columbus and fellow explorers embarked on their quest for domination. The was a large city 8 miles of present-day St. Louis called Cahokia. 10,000 or more civilians dwelled here in 1100 A.D. This was 400 years before Columbus voyaged to America. Cahokia was well-advanced and a metropolis in its time. Unfortunately, many students are not informed of the city sitting in their own backyard. Thus, the winners of history have written and told their story of civilizing the Americas, leaving Cahokia and its advanced dwelling out of the question.

Some may argue that if students were consonant in education, society would be less divisive. While this may be true; however, this fails students in learning. Questioning beliefs in history, religion, mathematics, etc. ignite learning for students. Students are digging for the truth, and the veracity does not come about from absent-minded adoption.

Therefore, it is pertinent to the advancement and a well-informed society to partake in discussion and criticizing the motives of the history that told.