All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether all parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s schools could be weighed for many aspects. However, the claim is problematic because it fails to tell us what kinds of parents are suitable for doing this in the first place.

First, asking all parents to be volunteers in their children’s schools is too astringent. In this modernized society, both of many children’s father and mother have a job at least respectively. If they are white or blue collars, they may work from 9 A.M. to 5 F.M. Simultaneously, children have to go to school during these 8 hours. Therefore, it will be difficult for these children’s parents to be volunteers in their schools because they are too busy with work. However, if children’s one of parents is stay-at-home mother or father, this claim may be more suitable because he or she can do a volunteer job for kids’ school and take care of kids.

In addition, this claim may produce a variety of “helicopter parents”. When these parents are doing a volunteer job in their children’s schools, it is more convenient for these parents to “supervise” their children’s behavior and their social activities. At the same time, their children may be fear of doing something that their parents don’t like or think inappropriate, they will do all behaviors to satisfy their parents’ want and just like making themselves play a role of marionette and operated by their parents. Gradually, they will tend to conceal and mask their true wants; and therefore, it will be likely that they will lose their own true thoughts. Hence, maybe parents should respect their children’s privacy and give them more freedom and flexibility in their schools.

It is true that by doing a volunteer job in their children’s schools these parents can know more about their children’s study and social condition in a close distance. When they need something or have some problems, these parents can take care of them and give them help. Yet, there may be other alternative ways to resolve these problems. For example, in Taiwan there is always a chief teacher distributed in every class. What a chief teacher has to do are not only teach their students for knowledge in their professional field but also manage their social behaviors, understand every students’ condition or thoughts, and make them cooperate with other classmates. In school, these chief teachers’ job is as approximately the same as these students’ parents. If their parents want to know more about their children in school, they can keep close contact with children’s chief teacher.

In conclusion, maybe it will be more appropriate when the claim is restricted to parents who have enough free time to do a volunteer job. At the same time, since we all don’t like to have “helicopter parents,” parents need to respect their children’s privacy more and make them more independent. If parents really want to know more about their children, it will be more suitable to seek alternative methods rather than be a volunteer job to supervise them.