All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

Schools are a critical component of any functioning society. Good schools provide a safe learning environment for children and help them develop the skills required to become functioning members of our society. Looking at the property prices in neighborhoods with good schools, it can be deduced that most parents would consider the quality of the school their children attend to be important. Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be tempting to mandate volunteer time for all parents in their children’s schools. However, doing so will be short sighted and may lead to various challenges.

Consider a poor neighborhood where parents are working multiple jobs just to afford basic necessities. Parents in such neighborhoods will likely be working long hours, often running ten or twelve hour shifts, which drains all of their energy. They may also have various obligations which severely limits the amount of time available for volunteering. Additionally, these parents might be working in jobs that may not have flexible hours or paid time off. Asking parents in such situations to volunteer may lead to loss of pay or exhaustion which severely effects the parent’s health and their children’s development.

Another important thing to consider would be the reduction in quality of the tasks being performed. When people are forced into doing things, it leads to apathy and a tendency to cut corners. A clear example of this can be seen across engineering schools in India. Many parents, with good intentions, forced their children into engineering majors for undergraduate study. However, doing so led to students that were apathetic to the courses being taught and frequently did not complete the required assignments. Forcing parents to volunteer will lead to similar apathy at schools which can be detrimental to the quality of the schools.

Finally, there may not be enough tasks available for all the parents who have to volunteer at a school. Consider any school which has over five thousand students. This would mean there are over five thousand volunteers and there may not be enough tasks to engage all the volunteers. However, since volunteer time is mandated, this may lead to multiple people being assigned to complete tasks that could have been done by a single person or may lead to a lot of idle time. This brings down the overall efficiency of the schools system and it hijacks valuable time from parents.

Volunteering at their children’s school can be an incredibly rewarding experience for many parents. Doing so may introduce them to many challenges faced by teachers and lets them appreciate the effort required to discipline and educate children. However, by looking at the above consequences it is clear that making it mandatory for all parents will lead to more harm than good.