There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the st

Over the course of billions of years, various species of plants and animals have inhabited our planet. Life has been discovered in the unlikeliest of places - at the bottom of the oceans where there is no light, at the mouths of active volcanoes where temperatures rise to well over one thousand degrees and in the dry deserts where a drop of water can be the difference between life and death. Given the breadth of diversity in life on earth it might seem important to prioritize saving endangered species – especially at a great cost to human advancement. However, doing so is prohibitive and may cause more harm than good to the human civilization.

Saving a species requires a non-trivial amount of knowledge on the habitat requirements, feeding activities, mating rituals and a host of other things that may or may not be available. Developing an expertise in such matters requires an incredible amount of time and patience which will be costly. Just to cite one example, consider the case of tigers in the Indian subcontinent. Tigers are apex predators that patrol large areas in search of food, usually big game such as deer or water buffalo, water and shelter. In the late twentieth century the number of tigers living in India dwindled into the hundreds and the Indian government decided to invest resources into saving them by hiring experts from various countries that understood the behavior of tigers and purchasing large swathes of land from rural land owners. The effort posed an economic challenge for the government that was already battling mass poverty and disease epidemics. Had it not been for tiger conservation, the resources spent on it could have been used for education of the rural populace or development of medical facilities that could have helped alleviate some of the challenges faced by the country.

Further, the earth has been host to a large variety of life for millions of years and over these years, species that could not adapt to the changing environments perished. By some estimates as much as ninety nine percent of all animal and plant species found on the earth have become extinct. Every day, there are thousands of species that have been driven to extinction without human intervention of any kind. Even if every human intends to make it their life’s mission to save all the species they can from extinction, there may not be enough that can be done to save them.

Given the great cost required to save species and the futility of it, there is no need for society to expend resources that are needed elsewhere. As a species, we must first be able to take care of ourselves before we branch out into saving other species.