"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

All through the development of human civilization there has been a constant tussle between cooperation and competition as philosophies of guidance for our youth. Many believe that the best way to develop thoughtful leaders in government, industry, or other fields, is by having young people compete. However, this notion is misguided due to the following reasons.

Many argue that a sense of competition can be used as a powerful motivator to generate ideas that may not have been generated otherwise. However, there is a vast body of research that proves this is not the case and that a sense of cooperation is a better motivator for leaders. Consider the case of Netflix, a streaming service usually considered to be the best in the market. Reed Hastings, their CEO, is rated as one of the best and Netflix maintains a significant lead compared to all of their competitors. Hastings has an open door policy and there is zero tolerance for refusal of cooperation which is usually linked to their high ratings.

Another benefit usually associated with competition between peers is that it weeds out the weak and rewards the high performers. While this may be true, such behavior is often associated with toxic work environments and there is a significant drop in employee morale. A good example of this can be seen in the Microsoft corporate structure under Steve Ballmer. Ballmer often had people compete and many departments became uncooperative to make sure their ideas are protected to make sure they get promoted. This led to frequent infighting and led to a brain drain which reverses the gains caused by competition. Consequently Microsoft was on the verge of collapse. However, their new CEO Satya Nadella has the opposite philosophy that lead to a huge increase in morale and productivity.

Finally, competition between the youth leads to high stress and anxiety among employees which may lead to faster burnout. As it can be seen, competition often leads to frequent infighting, brain drain and toxic workplaces. Looking at these reasons it can be concluded that a sense of cooperation is the best way for a society to prepare its young for leadership in government, industry and other fields.