All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The statement raises a major concern which has been haunting the management of many companies, both MNCs and Startups. The work a company does is very important for it to stay in the market for longer, but the internal operations of the company are equally important to keep the company stable and have a decorum established in the company. Many companies outsource this to consultants. They take inputs from consultants about how to operate a company. There are pros and cons to it. It is indisputable that taking the help of a consultant will give the company a work around the issue and the company will save some time in doing so. Nevertheless the disadvantages caused by this supersede advantages. I agree with the statement stating that the use of consultants to efficiently operate a company is unnecessary. I would substantiate my claim by providing a few reasons and examples.

Firstly, in any company, employees of the company are the one's who are the major stakeholders. They spend majority of the time working in the company. They are aware of what is wrong and what needs to be changed in the company. Let's consider an example: Assume that the employees in the company are frustrated by working for long hours, they need some mode of recreation. In this scenario, "Will the employees know the requirement better of a consultant who is not aware of the mental trauma employees are going through?" No doubt, employees of the company know what they need. If the consultant is a brainy person, he would as well come to the company and speak with a few employees and find out the issue and suggest a solution which is in favour of the employees. But when the management can take direct suggestions from their own employees, does it really make sense to pay a hefty amount to a consultant? Moreover, I would say that the employees would be even more happy if the company asks them for suggestions. They would get a feeling of involvement in company's operational matters.

Secondly, most of the consultants work with a generic plan. They have generic templates on to how to operate a company. When a company asks for a consultant's suggestion in any matter, they would find a generic solution to that problem from the template and provide it to them. This might work out to some extent with the company's requirement. But are all companies same? Defintely not. When the companies are not same, how can a generic plan work out for all companies. The operating of one company differs from another based on multiple factors such as diversity in the company, size of the company, budget of the company and many more things. As far as my understanding goes, the employees of the company are capable enough to take a call on the changes they require. That would be better than the generic plan which the consultant would suggest.

Thirdly and most importantly, these consultancies charge a huge amount for the work they do. If the companies manage to get this work done internally by taking inputs from their own employees, they would be saving a major chunk of the company budget. This part of budget can be constructively used for the benefit of the employees. Employees could be offered more incentives, goodies, team excursions and many other things. This would ensure employee satisfaction without using extra money from the company budget.