The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">The statement attempts to raise a discussion on a very important topic pertaining to the young population. Whether instilling a sense of cooperation or a sense of competition is the best way to prepare young people for the leadership roles of future? I personally feel that instilling a sense of cooperation is what prepares young people for future leadership roles. I would substantiate my claim with the reasons below.

Firstly, young people of the current generation who are addicted to competition don't bother about others. Victory is all they care about. This kind of mentality in the young minds of the country is very harmful both to the individual and to the country as a whole in the long run. Say a person who is very competitive becomes the leader of an industry. His ultimate and only goal would be to win over other industries. This is quite as expected from such person, because he was taught to do this from childhood. It's not a fault of the individual. He was taught to be competitive right from the beginning, and his behaviour was just a mirror to what he was taught. But is this the right behaviour to be portrayed when he is the leader? It is an undeniable fact that being competitive is necessary, but not to an extent that we mask other concerns over it. The leader must take all his member, subordinates together under an umbrella in time of distress and not get submerged in the sorrow of loss. Instilling a sense of competition prepares an individual as a "Solo Player" and not a "Team Player"

Secondly, a perfect leader is a person who takes every single aspect of the team into consideration, leaving aside his personal benefits. A competitve person, would have grown up in a scenario where his stature in the society and his benefits are all that matters. Let's consider an example, say a company is about to sign a contract with another company, and this contract is purely based on the personal interest of the leader. It would not benefit the company as a whole, but the employees in the company would have to work day and night for the deal. In this situation, an ideal leader who is instilled with a sense of cooperation would have consulted with his team and decided if it is a wise option for the team to take this deal up. But if it's the competitive leader, he would have gone ahead and signed the deal because he would have forseen personal benefit in the deal. That's the difference between a leader with a sense of cooperation and a leader with a sense of competition.

Most importantly, when young people who have been instilled with a sense of cooperation become our future leaders, be it governance, industry or any other field, they are bound to perform well. Reason being, they are aware of the behaviour expected from them. They know when to raise the temper and when to stay to calm. They are aware of when to question his subordinates and when to support them. This mentality grooms them into a charismatic leader.

Having given all these scenarios, I do agree that being competitive is necessary, but one must know to what extent he must be competitive and to what extent he must be cooperative. Pros of being a cooperative leader outnumbers that of a competitive leader. Hence it a wise decision for schools, parents and the society as a whole to instill cooperative behaviour in the young people of our country. </span><br>