A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">The statement attempts to raise a discussion on a topic of national importance,</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> "S</span>hould <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">students have a common national curriculum until they enter college?". Though many scholars and researchers disagree with the concept of common curriculum until college, it is an indisputable fact that common education is a necessary step in bringing about education reform in the country. I would want to substantiate my claim with the examples and reasonings that follow.

These days we see students from different states and</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> within the same state following different curriculums. This causes </span>numerous<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> issues when students from diverse backgrounds enter the portals of a university. The content which one student is aware of is not the same as another student. This hinders the academic growth of students. Especially those students whose past curriculum was behind the curriculum of other students, face a lot of difficulties, or if I may say "mental trauma". They are always in a race to cope up with the other students. Is it because the student is not bright or because the curriculum he studied in led to this? Definitely a question lawmakers should think about. Establishing a common curriculum at a national level would </span>make sure<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> that every student who steps into a university had a common agenda in the previous school they attended and hence be at the same pace.

There is a trend in a few curriculums run by private institutes wherein the students are given personalized subjects and they study only a few topics of their interest or parent's interest. Most of the times it's the parent's interest. Having a personalized curriculum at a young age, before they even step into the college is a prejudice to the future of the student. By doing so, we are not just </span>deciding<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> for our children as to what he/she has to study, we are also restraining them on their choice of education in the future. Students at the young age are not capable enough to decide what interests them the most, that is the reason they should follow a common curriculum which covers all general topics and then get to </span>decide<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> on the university on what they want to pursue or what their field of interest is.

When students from different schools have different curriculum, in cases of emergency where a student has to change schools in the middle of an academic year, it becomes extremely draining and difficult for students to cope up with a curriculum shift from one school to another. Should students, whose mind is so delicate, have to go through this trouble? Can't the nation have a common curriculum which ensures that all our students study the same? Given a common curriculum, a student who shifts schools will be able to adjust with minimal effort on academics and find some time for making new friends in the new place.

Having given all these examples, I do agree that</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> a few advantages of not having a common curriculum exist, such as special interest given to a few students in specific fields. But the reasons listed in the above paragraph makes it clear that the advantages of having a national curriculum </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">outgrow</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> the disadvantages. Hence the governments across the globe should go ahead and </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">make sure</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> that a common curriculum </span>is made available<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> to students in their nation until they enter the college.</span><br>