All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The corporate world is a well oiled machine with each employee acting as a cog, small or large in aiding its operations. Like any other machine, the corporate world always seeks to increase efficiency with which it achieves its goals. But often things don't go as planned and certain actions plod the company or organization from reaching peak efficacy. Consultants are brought in to intervene and find out the cause of this slow down and they often act like a media to bring out the problems or dissent existing within the company. I feel a little introspection on the company's part; paying heed to its own employees suggesiton and concerns will do just as good a job as a consultant would .That is why, I agree with a prompt and believe that if any organization listens to its employees more often, they will themselves discover ways to increase efficiency and there won't be a need to hire conseultants. The heart of a company is its employees. The company's success lies largely on the shoulders of its staff. However, an unhappy employee will be less likely to give his/her best for the company and thus reduce its efficiency. Consultancy firms often take employee interviews and try to make the employees of the companies point out ways which might be reducing the efficiency of the company. More often than not these problems can be as simple as lack of transperancy in the inner workings of the firm and pay disparities among others that often dissuade an employee from striving to work better. If the company has a thorough feedback mechanism where problems of the employee are regularly taken into account, they are not only cutting the middle man (in this case the consultancy firm) out and receiving first hand information regarding problems in their company but also in a way being financially efficient by saving money that they would otherwise spend hiring a consultant to do the same. It is a win-win situation. By doing this, the employee has ample opportunities to bring problems to the companies notice and the company get ways to be more efficient. Corporate heirarchy can often cause a drift between employer and employee. The mere thought of somebody being at a higher post is enough for people to be jealous. There are a lot of instances where corporate heirarchy causes dissent amongst its people. Employees are upset because they're being pushed too hard by their boss and they have no respite. A simple solution to this would be if the boss could know the employees problems and the fact that they are exhausted. An open door policy, where in employees are free to visit their superiors' or seniors' office without any prior notice really helps to ease this feeling of having no respite. Approachable bosses are sure to make employees happy and can ease the daunting seniority that often irks people. We see a large number of companies that have open door policies and employees have reported to be better at their work because of habig more affable bosses. This policy facilitates an open mode of communication in both directions; top down and bottom up. Now, there are some things that a consultancy firm can do for you that simple conversation between employers and employees cannot do. These may include development strategies and other technical strategies that cannot be figured out by mere open dialogue. The companies are welcome to hire consultants for the same. However, I feel that a company listening to its employees is sure to figure out ninety percent of its problems and move towards being a more efficient workspace. Humans are communicative creatures and therefore, communication is paramount to our survival and prosperity in all aspects of life. Introspection is the most powerful teacher.