Everyone must study the same national curriculum till high school.

Education is fundamental in the gowth and progess of a nation. It also plays a very important rule in the attitude and behaviour of the people of a country and also imbibes in them principles and values needed to function as a good human being. Education is a fundamental right and thus its standardization and proper disemmination is very important. Therefore, I agree with the fact that a nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college.

Admission to most colleges occurs by the scores of standardized tests. In most cases, these standardized tests are designed by a central organization and taken by students of different boards who have studied different curriculums. For example; in India , the admission to colleges is based on standardized tests conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education. India has a decentralized education system where every state has its on education board and thus its own curriculum. These state curriculums tend to be a lot easier and give the students a more visceral knowledge as compared to those studying in Central Board schools. Central board students are better equipped to take these tests. Thus causes a huge disparity in the knowledge required to take such standardized tests. A national curriculum will make sure everyone is on the same level as far as knowledge and academic content and are judged on their abilities in a fairer manner.

The world as such is changing at a very rapid speed. Staying abreast with the latest happenings and updates is essential. A decentralized education system often takes a lot of time to update their syllabus to include modern changes and findings. A centralized system changes that. Students can benifit a lot from having the latest knowledge with them by means of a centralized national curriculum which'll definitely take lesser time than having a distributed system.

Literacy is an important metric to guage the progess of a country. Different countries and within them different states have different criterias to measure literacy. The introduction of a national standard curriculum will give the authorities a definite criteria to measure the literacy since they know every person has gone through the same due process for acquiring their education. Students can also be definitively taught about things like doing one's taxes, which are often neglected in most curriculums.

Critiques might argue that the centralization of setting up the curriculum will lead to a loss of the new generation knowing about the local elements of history,language and culture. An introduction of a national curriculum doesn't necessarily mean the omission of these. The students can be educated about these in supplimental classes in addition to a standard, national curriculum. The student benefits in two ways, learning about his/her local history and culture as well as being equipped for standardized tests and other areas of academic competition

In conclusion, I support the introduction of a national curriculum until college as it opens the door to a level playing field for the students which is essential in a competitive field such as academics. It also gives them up to date knowledge which is easier to do when the curriculum is set centrally rather than in a distributed fashion.