The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyse the trends of its youth

Culture is what defines humans as a society. Humans are social animals. Our interactions with each other and its ramifications and effects is what comes under the umbrella of culture. Who better to voice the current trends and exemplify the mindset of society as a whole than the youth? I agree with the prompt in that the trends among the youth when studied can effectively help understand contemporary culture. I have three examples to believe so.

The younger generation was born into the digital age. Computers and the internet were commonplace even when the kids wear just learning to speak. The youth is abreast with technology and the platform it provides to voice one’s opinion and this is evident with many societal improvements relying on social media and the internet for gaining traction. The LGBTQ community was earlier subjected to a lot of hate and discrimination. It has gained a lot of support via the internet and the once stigmatised homosexual individuals are now being celebrated and given equal opportunities to flourish. Young people from all around the world supported each other and helped people be comfortable with their choice of partners. The younger generation does not have a blinkered outlook to this issue as opposed to their predecessors. This shows a more progressive and liberal thought process as compared to a traditional way of life.

Education opens many doors and opportunities to people who sought it. In the earlier societies, it was imperative for the progeny to continue to work in the profession that their parents were in. A blacksmith’s son would be a blacksmith with no consideration given to his choices. In the current generation, we see an increased independence among students in choosing a career path of their choice. In countries like India, where being a doctor or an engineer would bring praises to the student and their family whereas students taking up arts or history as a major would be frowned upon and look down upon, we see more students following their passion and taking up subjects of their interest. Professions like music or dance which were once seen as hobbies alone are now seen as legitimate career paths. We see students breaking away from parental control and being more independent with respect to their academic choices. Passion as opposed to a promise of “respect” is given greater importance and it is most evident in the youth. Once again, this trend towards following one’s passion is displayed in the current culture.

Standing up for what is right is an important step in living in a society. Be it standing up against bad or unfair laws or suggesting improvement in policies, it is the right and duty of a citizen to critique and question the government and its incumbents. The youth are seen as the epitome of energy and vigour and are known to take to the streets against acts of injustice or unjust policies. Such is evident in history with the civil rights movement in the United States of America where youth were at the forefront, or the Indian freedom struggle where young leaders like Bhagat Singh led the way for protest against the colonial oppressors. That was the culture back then; standing up for what’s right. Fortunately, this spirit is scene even today with the youth leading protests against police brutality in the States and protests in Indian University against the Citizenship Amendment Act, which granted citizenships to refugees on the basis of religion. This is the epitome of contemporary culture; the fact that the youth cares and stands up for what’s right.

In conclusion, the youth is the generation that is going to take civilisation forward. They are on the path of deciding their future and their approach to it is what makes up contemporary culture. That is why I am of the opinion that the youth exemplifies contemporary culture and observing their trends will give you an incisive understanding to it.