Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is needless to say that we’ve been increasingly relying on new technologies year after year. While some people may think that such reliance could affect humanity negatively, I think that the advantages coming from it eclipse its side effects. As far as education and learning is concerned, I think that new technological innovations have really improved methods for instructing students without distracting them from real learning. Thus, I do not agree with the author’s claim.

First, let’s focus on the advantages that new technological innovations brought regarding ways of teaching. Computers, internet, projectors and smart white-boards really improved the way teachers can do their job. Whether it is about an history teacher showing students war movies, or a physics teacher projecting experiments that could not be done in classes, technology allows teachers to find a better and more concrete way to teach students.

Furthermore, it is essential to underline the importance that technology had , especially in the last two years. With the advent of a global pandemic, schools were inaccessible to students nor teachers. Internet, virtual classrooms, and platforms such as Google Teams and Zoom made teaching and learning possible even from home. Without these technological innovations learning might have come to a stop. It is true that distance learning is not as effective as learning in schools, and that there are a lot of negative aspects about it. Students used to log into virtual classes and then not follow them, as well as found many ways to cheat. Nonetheless, these negative sides would have been present even in normal ways of teaching, thus showing that the negative sides will never overcome the positive ones.

On the other hand, it is really easy to get distracted while learning with these new methods. Youtube videos, apps, everything which is on the web almost always comes with advertising or some other kind of distraction While on a book you can’t really find anything other than what you’re supposed to study, you’re more tempted to scroll among your favorite videos while looking at an explanatory video on youtube. Thus, it is up to the student to not get distracted and ending up on his/her phone while following online classes.

In conclusion, I would say that technological innovations really improved the quality and the practicality of instructing new students.