Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Every individual defines what it means to be an effective leader differently. Whatever it is, there is no doubt that having certain characteristics, such as sound moral judgment and the ability to maintain the respect of their peers, are important. While some people find that the latter characteristic trumps the former in being an effective leader, it is in fact, that having sound moral judgment is a more important characteristic of an effective leader than his/her's ability to maintain the respect of his/her peers.

An effective leader takes the appropriate actions to ensure the general good of society, not merely what benefits the small circle of his/her peers. Therefore, it is not more important for a leader to maintain his/her peers' respect compared to having sound moral judgment. Take for instance, Hitler. He was well-respected by the members of the Nazi party, or in other words, members of his inner circle. However, he lacked severely in sound moral judgment, which led to the mass genocide of Jewish people during the 1940s. While he may be idolized by a few today, his reputation is largely one of a brutal dictator, and not one of an effective leader.

Although extreme, Hitler is not the only example highlighting the importance of an effective leader to have sound moral judgment over their ability to maintain the respect of their peers. One such recent case is Donald Trump. Several members of the Republican party respected him, as well as many American citizens. However, the global community would hardly describe him as an effective leader, in large part because of his wanting moral judgment. Throughout his presidency, he consistently created a divide amongst his citizens: calling Mexicans "rapists", Muslims "terrorists", and the coronavirus as the "Wuhan/Chinese virus". This lack of moral judgment on his part prevented him from carrying out the responsibilities of an effective leader: fostering union among the citizens, promoting public health, etc. Thus, Donald Trump provides another example of the greater significance for an effective leader to have sound moral judgment, compared to their ability to maintain the respect of his/her peers.

While maintaining the respect of one's peers is a significant factor to being an effective leader, it is by no means more important than having a sound moral judgment.