Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Since the start of mankind, man has always had the urge to be the aloha. While the primitive selection criteria of physical strength does not hold up in today, mental strength is still the number one criteria when choosing a good leader. In my opinion, n effective leader is one who can command the respect of those closest to him.

In the ruthless modern day world where competition, both in the fields of politics as well as business, has become cut-throat, the role of a leader has become more important than ever. If those under ones commands are not taking ones word seriously, then how can that person expect to convince customers, consumers, supporters and opponents of the same opinion? Regarded by many as the greatest football manager of all time, Sir Alex Ferguson, the legendary coach of Manchester United Football Club has reiterated multiple times in his autobiographies that a good manager is one who can control the ego's of the players and staff, even if this means raising your own ego to even higher levels. He also states how a player, no matter how big of a superstar, can never be bigger than the organisation.

The reason of the downfall of many leaders, and organisations as a result, is not the decisions the leader has had to make, but the support he or she receives after the decision is made, whether it be a successful decision, as in the case of Steve Jobs and his iPhone, or a failed decision, as in the case of Samsung and their Note 7. Both companies made it out of these situations in better positions than if they had not taken the leap.

However, while it is true that any leader has the bare minimum job of making the right judgement calls, the response the organisation receives towards these decisions is a much bigger factor for the overall growth of the company. Even if a mistake is made, with peers who respect you and believe in your work, you can make it out of even the toughest of situations, and that is the essense of a great leader.

In a nut shell, as businesses and political parties continue to grow, the role of a leader being one who demands the respect of his peers first, then the public, has become more important than ever. After all, a company is only as effective as its leader.