Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Moral judgement might be one of the deciding factor for an effective leader but respecting his peers is on the higher end of the spectrum. Peers are one of the most important driving force behind success of a leader apart from other distinguishing qualities.

For an organization to run successfully, leaders are required to be quite effective in their judgmental qualities. But this might not be the only one factor that benefits an organization. Leader's success is measured by the efforts of team leadership and several other qualities which are majorly concerned with peers being involved in it. Efforts of the peers behind leader to be successful is one of the most critical reason to be accounted. Leader cannot be successful unless peers are willing to work under leader's influence. Hence, a leader must respect the efforts put in by peers for an organization to be successful.

This does not completely deny the fact that in some cases, moral judgement plays critical step for a leader to be successful. At such times, leader must just concentrate on the overall progress of the organization instead of just being dependent on peers to make an effective decision.

One of the greatest example of effective leadership can be Steve Jobs, founder of Apple Inc. He always tried to respect decisions from his peers. Innovations from peers ideas were one of the most important driving force behind his success. Not to be denied by the fact that, Steve was role model for most of his employees, who tried to inculcate values such as team leadership, moral judgement, punctuality, etc. from Steve Jobs. Hence, sometimes even the leader plays a role model for his peers to be successful.

Peers try to inculcate values from leaders as cited in the example above. This strives to the idea that leader must be effective in his leadership qualities which are then further passed on to the peers. If leader tries to respect his peers, then he might be respected in return. For a leader to be effective, he must try to respect decision from his peers instead of just thwarting them.

This concludes the given topic by the fact that we cannot ignore moral judgment from an effective leader at the stake of respecting his peers, which according to me might be more critical. Hence, for a leader to be effective he must not only possess leadership qualities but also try to respect his co-workers.