Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

An effective leader is not only defined by his actions and judgements, but also how revered he is among his peers. An effective leader not only takes moral decisions but is also respected by his followers for it.

An important characteristic of a leader is how well he uplifts himself and his team along with him. His team looks upon him, and it vital that he has the ability to maintain the respect of his peers. A leader loses his power the moment his own peers hold no respect for him. It is important that he not only considers the morality of the judgement, but also thinks about how it will be viewed by his peers. A leader who has lost all respect in the eyes of his peers is no leader at all. For the team to heed to his decisions, they must first respect him as a person. If they don't consider with him with any regard, then they will not follow his decisions with any seriousness. I'd like to give the example of Mahatma Gandhi ji, who effectively lead India to her path to freedom. It would not have been possible if the people of the country had no respect for him. If it weren't for the respect he earned, they wouldn't have taken his preachings of a practise called 'Ahimsa' seriously, a practise which played a great role in helping India breaking free from her chains.

In the path of a leader, there will be many situations which will challenge him to take tough moral decisions. Some of these will not be accepted by many. It is such times which define how efficient a leader is, by his ability to reason with his peers, to make them understand the various reasons behind such tough decisions. It will be near to impossible to reason with a person who has no respect for him, which will only lead to his efforts being futile and will lead to his unpopularity in his own team. Respect plays a big role in the career of a leader. He should be able to arrive upon the best possible judgements at the same time consider how it will project him to his own peers and followers.

A leader is greatly defined by how he is viewed as among his peers. Respect is the most important aspect defining a leader, without which a leader is insignificant