In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievemnts within that field.

What motivates us most if not previous triumph? Some may same mistakes, but I am of an opinion that successful previous achievements have indeed a leading role here. This is why, in particular, I agree with the statement: it seems rather unachievable to make a major contribution in any field of endeavor without first being influenced by past achievements within the same sphere. There are, however, different reasons for this statement to hold true.

First and foremost, all of us know many names within any significant discipline. It is not only one Shakespeare within literature, not only one Einstein within science, not only one Da Vinci within art. There are many great scholars that contributed to the same field of endeavor. Any descendent has an ancestor, and vice-versa. Every time a scientist, or a writer steps up, there exists generational experience and knowledge to rely upon.

Secondly, results – not merely ours – push us forward and provide us with a clearer understanding of the future direction. Generational experience helps scientists, artists, and scholars to cumulate knowledge and to continue working towards the same goal. Failures, at the same time, let wise men to learn from mistakes that have already been made once.

It can, however, be possible to become a pioneer in a field of endeavor without almost any previously made discoveries. But it is a rare case. Like, for instance, the first human outer space journey. We should also underscore that this contribution was not made solely by one person, it was a collective work.

To sum up, it seems plausible that many significant contributions were influenced by past achievements within the same field.