As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Who can refute that the increasing amount of technology makes people lazy and languid? Smartphones nowadays can provide us with food, clothes, and any other basic necessities within a mere click. Elevators can spare us from climbing the stairs, and cars can drive us anywhere. And the process doesn’t stand still: some automobiles can literally drive us with no strain from our side. However, I cannot agree with the idea that due to the incorporation of technology humans’ ability to think has to degenerate. In fact, quite oppositely, I believe that, even though people now become more and more dependent upon technology, it has a power to make us more intelligent and skillful as well.

First of all, technology allows us to obtain useful knowledge. Never before the invention of the Internet, ordinary people could have become adept in almost any field. Reading books or learning through masters used to be a real commitment because it required a lot of time and effort. Now learning has become undemanding: people can learn how to knit, to cook, to repair a car, or any other imaginable activity.

With all the online materials and courses provided, the tendency to learn and study more – especially among the youngsters – is quite transparent. Technology allows people to expand their thinking as well as to open up new horizons. For instance, not everyone nowadays is able to study due to different reasons: some people cannot afford to attend a college, others are simply short in time. But, with the invention of the Internet, people now have an access to almost any type of education they are seeking. What is more, many new career options – such as web-design, copywriting, blogging – spread around the world.

I believe that the incorporation of technological tools into our quotidian lives can evidently improve it. Although it seems undeniable that modern technology promotes dependence and encourages consumerism and materialism, tech also can be highly valuable in terms of resources and opportunities. The ability of human beings to think for themselves cannot be possibly deteriorated due to the mere invention of technology. It is a question of choice. There are those who want to think and those who do not. For those who want to think, technology can be a great resource of knowledge, education, it can inspire people and push them forward, while for those who do not, it can be another way of staying a couch potato.