It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

The mere fact that all human beings live in a society underscores how important it is to be gregarious and to be capable of identifying ourselves with social institutions. The trait of influence of social groups can be found at each and every stage of our lives: starting in early years of childhood and continuing through the whole life.

Being a part of a social institution is not a mere mean of communication, it is an essential part of live because through relationships with others we define ourselves. First people whom we meet are other parents, or caregivers, as well as our close relatives and family friends. While we interact with them, we try to emulate their habits and form our own idiosyncrasies. While we grow, we encounter more people and eventually we form a group of peers that share similar ideas and hobbies, or simply live nearby. This usually starts to happen quite early in our childhood, and this is an essential part of our period of growing up: we learn what friendship and loyalty mean, sometimes we learn what betrayal and misunderstanding mean. This is the time when we begin to define ourselves as discrete individuals: while looking at our friends and acquaintances we learn what we think is right or wrong, we learn how to conduct ourselves appropriately, we compare ourselves to others and discover what we represent as individuals.

Undoubtedly, childhood and young adolescence are crucial periods of our lives and what we learn during those early years of our existence will critically shape our beliefs, ideals, and convictions in the future. We continue to identify ourselves later on through our association with social groups at college and at work. When we attend school, the environment of the place where we study is of high importance because it establishes our attitude towards education. If we find ourselves in a devoted and determined collective, we engender such important qualities as dedication and self-efficacy, we become goal-oriented, well-organized human beings that are preparing themselves to step up at work field. Vice-versa, if we feel stuck in a lazy contingent and sleep inducing atmosphere, we will not develop any vital characteristic and will probably not succeed in our future career. The same can be said about corporate world and the role we play in the office. The work environment plays a major role in determining the behavior of its employees.

Opponents may say that the statement does not hold true because a person may not develop and possess the same characteristics as the social group. But it seems rather implausible because otherwise this person would not become a member of a particular group, or he would have many miscommunication and misunderstanding issues with his parents, acquaintances, friends, classmates, or colleagues. There are indeed rare cases showing that some people remain completely uninfluenced by the contingent that they are members of. However, it is rather exception to the rule and in most of the cases an individual’s character is reflected by the social interaction with other people that he associates himself with.

In short, social groups help to shape us as individuals and to determine our idiosyncrasies right from the moment of our birth. While there are rare cases of those who remain rather unaffected by others, most of people develop their personalities through communication and interaction with others.