In any field of endeavor it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field

I agree with the author that past achievements are the key stones to a greater contribution in any field, if it is agreed that past achievements are not strictly restricted to an individual's but all predecessors' in the field. But I disagree that such past achievements have to be within the field, where one wishes to make a contribution.

How do people make progress? In my opinion, by building up upon what was previously established. There is no such thing as jumping from A to Z. If a baby hasn't learnt to walk or to stand up to start with, it can't run.

My idea should not be abused into thinking that one needs to have a track record already to succeed. One might have made the progress but hasn't yet materialised it into success or most importantly he doesn't have to ustilise his own work only, but his predecessors. For example, a genius mathematician/scientist may come up with a spectacular and original idea but the backbone of his study, as fundamental as, simple addition and multiplication-he himself didn't invent or discover. Before the time addition and multiplication was discovered, no one could have single handedly invent calculus.

However in the case of a pioneer this idea does not fully apply, because the pioneer establishes a new branch of academia by integrating findings of different fields. It might be success and failure of other fields. For example quantum mechanics emerged after wave theory could not explain some natural phenomenom. In such case, the founder has utilised the findings of his worldly predecessors but not nocessarily in his field. So I disagree with the author in this respect.