“In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.”

Does the younger generation have a better skill set than the older generation? Is the younger generation more capable than the working generation?

Yes and no. The younger generation, having a wide range of approachable skills and an even wider range of exposure with curious minds have a wider perspective which makes one think of several different ways to approach a problem. It urges them to think way out and beyond the box. Whereas, the antecedent generation, with more experience, has more profound knowledge to apply and authenticate.

This is especially applicable to the corporate. If an industry accepts the younger generation, they increase their chances of taking into account every possibility of finding a solution. For example, a lot of CEOs of MNCs look for younger CEOs to bequeath their responsibility, knowing fairly well what the younger generation can bring to the table. This does not in any way mean that the older generation is not capable. The older generation has far more experience and combined with the right mind, the seed of prosperity can be sowed.

What must also be remembered is the contribution of the older generation in making the younger generation so capable. It is because of what the older generation put on the table which made the life of the upcoming generation much smoother giving them enough time to spend their time building and learning the right skills in less time.

Hence, it goes unsaid the importance of a younger person's contribution to the future. While one with experience will think only with a limited perspective, the one with uncircumscribed view and experience will go beyond their scope of thought to find what their curious and young mind will seek to find.

Conclusively, it is important to have a maverick and not an insular field of vision.