Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shift in popular opinion will accomplish little

Discuss the extent to which u agree or disagree with the statement and explain the reasoning for the position u take. In developing na supporting ur position u should consider ways in which the statement might or might not help true and explain how these consideration shape ur position.

Does one believe and support such leaders who aren’t as we may say so ‘a man of his words’? Does a person who isn’t firm with his thoughts and his stand achieve the unattainable? The author doesn’t support it and I agree with the author. A leader is someone who is shouldered with the Brobdingnagian responsibility to burgeon its people towards success, therefore a leader should be a confident personality who does not lack in foreseeing what common people cannot decipher, as only the person who can stand firm irrespective of the problems faced can accomplish unattaitainable goals and objectives.

Firstly, being in a position of power comes with immense responsibility of delivering what is righteous for people at large in a long run; a leader has to be a person who can think beyond the success of an individual and hence there is a possibility that they might have to bear a backlash from people but, that shouldn’t refrain the person in power to do what is right, as that will be the strong foundation of his/her future accomplishments which then will address him as a person who could withstand any problem for the greater good. For instance, in any school if the head girl has a wavering mind in taking a strict actions against those students who did not abide by the school guidelines, she might be applauded by the offenders but it will ruin her image in the minds of other students who will doubt her potential to carry forward with the role. However, if she would have taken the step to punish them, an instant portrayal of her would not be pleasing but the image that will get imprinted in the minds of students at large would be of a strong willed leader who could do what’s best for people at large and for future, that one decision would have added to her list of achievements she has accomplished.

Furthermore, an individual would see things from an individual profit or loss perspective whereas the leader’s responsibility is not to focus on what is good for few people rather the task is to take decisions that might hurt the sentiments of few individuals but might profit everyone in the future. To exemplify I would like to talk about the demonetisation decision taken by honourable Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the decision was taken overnight and did attack the people’s vulnerabilities and hence people could not digest it, also the PM received a lot of backlash for his decision, but he had foreseen how it could be better for and in the future, i.e. it would eliminate all the black money prevailing in the market making the money system more just. Thus, tough decisions make tough leaders who can achieve great accomplishments and be praised for there doings in the future.

However, a leader who mistakes being firm in his stance with not giving importance to opinions of people around him and for whom he is working is also a morally corrupt decision. Leaders are chosen by the people, for the people and from the people hence, it is crucial for a person in power to pay hid to thoughts and ideas of people whom he/she represents. For instance, when we as a population choose our politician, we are aware of the fact that they are one amongst us and hence know our problems and miseries, however we still would want them to hear to our plea when we approach them. If at that moment the politician decides to follow one’s own will that will not add on to their list of achievements and that will certainly not be taken as something done in the name of a better tomorrow. A leader has to be a good listener in order to fulfil what its role demands as well as to create a special place in the hearts of its people, as it is one of the greatest accomplishments.

Having said, I believe that a leader is the depiction of the society at large, he/she are well aware of all the intricacies of the people and the society and hence he/she should have a firm opinion and a point of view that doesn’t shift with peoples changing minds and opinions in order to achieve things for the greater good.