To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical moral standards

Be it in the archaic times or today’s modern era, efficient leaders and their leadership skills have always proved to be successful for achieving greater goals and objectives irrespective of the domain. An effective leader is an amalgamation of various aspects like high moral, ethics, acumen to be a team player and many more traits. The author is of the opinion that an effective leader is the one who abides by appropriate decorum and morals when it comes to dealing with several problems and I agree with the author’s stance. I believe that a leader should have things figured out, as people look upto them and follow their path hence, it is an enormous responsibility on the leaders’ shoulders, to ensure that they are setting a good example for people to follow.

Firstly, when people decide to bestow their responsibility as a society to an individual they are putting their faith and trust in that person to work for the betterment of the people and the society at large. Once, the person is vested with powers that can either enhance or can ruin the dynamics for people, it becomes a giant responsibility in itself to use it judiciously. For instance, when the population of any country selects its leader/politician they are trusting a person who will think and take decisions that will turnout to do good for the population as a whole and when that person misuses the powers vested to him he/she becomes an example of a bad and an ineffective leader due to the perfidy they exhibited. Thus, to achieve goals with proper procedure a just leader is required and if the person is a gem with his/her leadership skills, sky is the limit for people’s achievements irrespective of their field of work.

Secondly, if we observe people in our surroundings a common observation that can be deciphered is that, they consciously or subconsciously try to mimic their idols in the way they work, talk or behave. So, these ideals are our leaders and if they are not of an image that conduces them being a person of morals and ethics it will adversely effect the people in general. To exemplify it better, I would like to discuss about how millennials are highly influenced by superstars of the movie industry, so much so that they believe and trust products that the actors advertise, so when they are spotted in tobacco or cigarette commercials, the people believe that that is what has contributed to the actor’s success, and they also think that using those products they can find themselves being one step closer to their idol. Thus, even when they are not public officials and mere entertainment personalities they tend to lead a path that will exasperate how people think they should act as they are just following a trend set by their idol without putting more thought into it.

Thirdly, when any leader abides by certain guidelines and regulations they are contributing in making that a system, so that people at large imbibe that trait and apply it in every domain be it business, politics, sports which then turns out into a lucid functioning of country in a larger frame. To add on, when ethics and moral grounds are discovered, discussed and delegated, a proper chain for functioning to achieve desirable outcomes is formulated and later on practiced. For instance, in an organisation if the functioning of each department like finance, sales, marketing etcetera is discovered, discussed and delegated properly by the leader or the head, then there will be no wastage of time and the organisational objectives will be achieved systematically and people will follow the righteous way of working even if their leader or head changes because they have incorporated a proper trait to work.

To sum it up, it can be inferred that if a leader has proper decorum in regard to the ethical and moral standards, he/she will encourage people to inculcate that trend which subsequently led to the proper system of working thereby establishing an effective leader.