The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

We have entered an age where we have our hands on things more than we think we require as a consumer, it is all in abundance if we have the purchasing power. This has given a free hand to us as consumers, which has created environmental problems for towns and cities, the author here has mentioned of a very stern suggestion on imposing strict limits on the amount of trash that would be accepted from households, I agree with the author on having some regulations to get environmental effects under control however, I do not abide with the measure provided by him.

Firstly, there are abundant choices provided to the consumers which puts them into a state of mind where they are ambiguous as on what to choose as well as they want to have it all. Also, people somewhere correlate being able to have hands on different items as a consumer a mark of being privileged or having succeeded. For instance, everyone would want to have a morning breakfast- a staple meal for a healthy lifestyle, and having juice and/or or cereal is good, however, when one hoards on variety of juices like guava, orange, mixed fruit and variety of cereal options like weetabix, chocos, corn flakes, etcetera one is adding on to the waste we generate as a consumer just so that one has a variety of options to try from and does not want to miss out on having something to say or some opinion when one have to talk about breakfast options, as one do not want to undergo the fear of missing out. To add on one also correlates that they are blessed that they have options to choose from and are in privileged position.

Furthermore, all of this leads to generating brobdingnagian amount of waste that has a harmful effect on the environment which indirectly is going to harm the mankind. So, to save ourselves from the future that is a result of our today’s wrongdoings one needs to take precautionary measures to subdue the ill effects. The people today should be made more self aware of the cycle of things that would happen as a result of something they consider so petty or sometimes just dodge it off. To exemplify, when one goes on hoarding various products from supermarket one needs to understand-is that really required or they are wasting their capital on wanting to try new things that do not make sense. The businesses are there to make profits by giving innumerable options to the consumers but if consumers become sane enough on what to choose the battle is won as the businesses then would only provide the requirements and not with the unnecessary add-ons. Thus, when a consumer is buying just what is required by them and is also associated in helping to recycle the waste it has contributed to the environmental problems of town and cities will be solved.

However, by imposing strong and strict limits like limiting the waste to be collected from each household of the towns or cities would not do any good to eradicate the extra waste generated because if people are unaware of what they are contributing to it is highly possibile that they will not get what wrong is happening as a result of their actions. For example, when in a school students are strictly told not to perform certain activities as a part of school rule there are chances that they will not abide by it as there isn’t enough reasoning associated with it, however , if they are made aware why such nitigrities exist they will be able to understand and self-educate themselves to follow the school rules. In a similar way rules and regulations forced upon households to solve the environmental issues will not produce an overwhelming effect whereas as a complete understanding of the problem will be a better approach to resolve the issue at hand.

Having said that if the consumers are well aware of what they need, and they make a conscious decision of being involved in recycling the waste generated by them the environmental problems can be solved without forcing upon strict limitations, as only by self awareness and self-education the consumers will be able to eradicate the environmental issues caused by consumer-generated waste.