Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement is based on the underlying assumption that public opinion is counter-intuitive to the decision making process. This thought-process isn't deeply evaluated before using it as a base for the statement. Public opinion can cause both remarkable and damaging changes. It is relevant to analyse both the advantages and disadvantages of public opinion on an issue.

Agreeing with the public opinion can be the cause for mediocre improvement since not everyone possesses the skillset to properly understand complex socio-political issues. Most governments refuse to yield to the demands of anti-social elements of the society keeping hostages to fulfill their demands. This often doesn't resonate with the opinion of the people involved whose loved ones may be among the people held hostage. The main reason behind the government's tactic is to ensure that such a stance will discourage similar activities from happening in the future.

Another factor could be that the population doesn't have the complete knowledge of the situation since some of the details related to the issue weren't disclosed to the public for varied reasons. The people of any country or province do not possess classified information regarding highly sensitive matters. Usually, the public doesn't interfere with such matters as they understand the complexity behind the issues.

It has been observed that the popular opinion can be influenced in today's world through various online platforms. Hence, merely adhering to the public's opinion won't be the correct choice as the opinion could be flawed.

However, agreeing with the popular opinion does present it's fair share of advantages. The people feel responsible in the decision making process and have an increased trust in their leader and their nation. This is an important reason why a democratic society is considered to be more satisfied and happier than a monarchy.

It is important to consider that when a large share of the people feel strongly about a particular choice then it might be for a reason. Not every person shares the same opinion and it could be that the leader may not understand the reasons that compell the majority of the population to incline towards a certain opinion.

To make the correct decision a leader must employ several techniques. The leader must always discuss the issue with the opposing sides to understand their views. This could only lead to a better decision as either the leader will notice a flaw in their own judgement or will feel more confident about their opinion.

It is also important to analyse what an accomplishment signifies since if the task at hand is to increase the people's trust then it could be beneficial to stick with the popular opinion. However, if the goal is related to defence, economic, socio-political issues then it's best for the leader to make an informed choice that fits the big picture.

A leader has an important role to make the best possible decision for it's population. The decision may resonate with the popular opinion or it may not. As far as it benefits the people in the long run it will become a decision that is appreciated by the majority of the people.