In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress in society, in every aspect, be it governance, introducing a innovative process in a manufacturing process, bringing new curriculum in an institution, should go through deliberation among people with contrasting point of view. It's by listening to the opposition in governance, we can sustain democracy in our society. The opposing ideas in a manifacturing plant might be coming from a more insightful individual who might be able to provide guidance in making proper tuning in the processes thus making it efficient and keep the processes in check so that it doesn't bring bad effects.

It's only by deliberation that we can understand each other's point of view. A country going through massive industrialization might be energy hungry and a government may introduce plans for nuclear plants and there might be proponents of not using a nuclear plant because of its harmful wastes. Now such a bill may get passed by a government with stringer number of support groups, but it's equally important to understand the oppositions, as there might be other cleaner energy sources available at the country's expense that can be utilized without risking any more fukushima-daiichi incident. At the same time, a nuclear reactor might be more efficient and reasonable to build taking into consideration of the proper management of the nuclear waste. Such ideas are always debatable and the outcome should do betterment to the society as a whole.

Conflicting ideas could co-exist as long as they respect each other. Listening to the other side of the story is equally important as to let others know our point of view. When Albert Einstein introduced the idea of photons, a quantified light energy packet, it was in conflict with the accepted idea of light energy being continuous and in the form of electromagnetic waves. Yet, photon supported all the fundamentals of an electromagnetic wave, thus obliterating the separation in equivalence. Such ideas can only be accepted when there is discussion among the groups with opposing ideas and proper validation supporting one's idea is presented. And once again it supports the existance of conflicting ideas and yet perfectly in resonance.

Keeping distance does not resolve issues between conflicting parties. For making progress, in any society, opposing voice needs to be heard and taken into account, as, for every solution or process decided to bring progress in a society can be made better. Progress is a continuous process and with discussion among people with conflicting point of view, it can be made for the betterment of everyone.

One thing to remember, not all point of view are for good or for improvement of existing processes or for bringing new innovations. Of course, in any society or government or any public or private institution, there would be nuances in processes; thus it cannot be equated among all institutions for similar problems. A public transportation problem might seem similar with the privately held institution's employees commute, yet the resolution of such problems may take a totally different approach.

It's unfortunate and yet needs to be accepted that there would be obnoxious people who would try to bring vile ideas and would try to make a system corrupt. We have to have such mechanism to refine such discussion and the participants, so that faulty ideas and unwanted nuisances are thwarted.

Thus it's very important to pay heed to the opposing point of views and understand what is causing the conflict and have proper mechanism to bring such people into a platform to deliberate among themselves to come to a consensus. That's how we can make progress in any society or in every aspect of our life.