To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addre

Public officials who maintain a high ethical and moral code become an effective leader in the eyes of their followers. What kind of leader in history has low ethical and moral standards? The answer to that question is a leader that doesn't last long. A blatant example of this would be Adolf Hitler's rule over Germany. Today, we see these lower moral and ethical standards in the leaders in the media industry. Finally, in the words of Herbert Hoover, “When there is a lack of honor in government, the morals of the whole people are poisoned.” Leaders that have higher moral and ethical standards will likely see the same in their followers.

Firstly, throughout history, rulers and public leaders have been overthrown by their followers for having lower ethical and moral standards. These standards have a tendency to reflect into their policies. Adolf Hitler is a prime example of this. Hitler became popular and rose to power mostly through the power of speech. Even though he had many followers, he became hated and feared because of his lower moral and ethical standards. That started to show in his policies, which lead to the start of the Third Reich and the Holocaust. In the end, Hitler couldn't rely on his gift of speech to save him when his armies were defeated, concentration camps were liberated. His last resort was suicide.

Moreover, we still see the pattern that leaders with low moral and ethical standards do not last long in power today in the entertainment industry. Many leaders, producers, and actors in this industry are now under fire for their poor ethic and moral code, specifically their treatment of women. Because of the public outrage at outrage in this situation, many movies and television shows are being canceled or boycotted and these public figures are facing potential jail time for their actions.

Lastly, a leader who maintains high moral and ethical standards keeps the peace over their followers. Not only will a leader be popular with their followers for having these higher standards, the followers will be more inclined to follow suit and maintain high moral and ethical standards themselves. Populations with these values rarely see conflict, either amongst themselves or with other populations.

In the eyes of the public, leaders in history and in today’s industry with lower moral and ethical standards are not effective leaders. Leaders with lower ethical and moral standards are at risk of those views being portrayed in their policies. These unpopular policies will then lead to public outcry and demand removal of that leader. Only leaders that portray these moral and ethical standards will see them in the people who follow them.