Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Having an unlimited imagination is one of the characteristics of being human. We have the imagination to create fictional worlds for stories and the imagination to solve problems with out of the box solutions. In any given field, some may say that imagination is more valuable than experience, because those who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible. I disagree with this claim because imagination does not give you the knowledge to succeed within a field, experience does.

Experience within a certain field gives us certain habits and attitudes. While some may say these characteristics act as constraints, I believe they are the tools to succeed within a field. A person lacking experience may not succeed relying on imagination alone. A scientist will have gained collaborational and organizational habits through experience. This will make this scientist more likely to create a contribution than a newer scientist who is imagining what they may accomplish. An experienced author will have more best sellers than the novice because they know how to publicize and sell themselves.

One popular example of this is Bill Gates, and how he dropped out of school to create Microsoft. While this may be motivational to others, people tend to forget that he dropped out of Harvard business school. He gained the experience, habits, and attitudes needed to create his own business through Harvard. If he never went to Harvard, and just worked with his imagination, it is unlikely that his business would have went as far as it did.

Within any field, imagination is important key for creation and problem solving, but should not be relied on alone. While working in a field, it is the experience gained through problem solving that will make a person successful.