Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

It has always been a controversial topic when discussing if a government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today or focus on solving the anticipated problems of the future. While it is true that what you can do tomorrow can get done today, that thinking may be flawed. I believe that if government leaders are too focused on future problems, it may distract them from more immediate issues.

Firstly, immediate issues that are presented to a government creates more urgency than any potential problem of the future. People within a nation will not be pleased with its government if they are ignoring these issues trying to solve potential issues. Issues such as poverty, education, and unemployment are all problems that, if not acted on immediately, will become a larger problem in the future. If poverty continues to increase, the government may be then faced with malnutrition and health care issues, homelessness, and decrease in population. Ignoring education will lead to lack of literacy and a lack of employees to fill certain jobs.

One example of a government ignoring an immediate issue would be the United States current issue on gun control. Due to many school shootings in the past year, citizens are demanding action from the government to take action, whether it is to create more laws that prevent certain people from obtaining guns or to completely ban guns and take them away from civilians. Though many demands from U.S. citizens have been voiced, the government has only banned bump stocks and that's it on that subject. Since then, the government has been focused on other matters, such as the Russian investigation.

In conclusion, a government ignoring the issues of today for potential issues of tomorrow will lead to greater issues arising. Although some of these future issues are known to us and are to be a great threat when the time comes, ignoring current issues will lead to more problems and the citizens of the nation will lose trust in their government.