To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

It is not by mere appointment that a person becomes a leader but by the virtue of his deeds that he cast an influence over people. I fundamentally agree that public officials should adhere to high ethical and moral standards which are beneficial to their leadership as well as the society, while it is not their political responsibility to pursue the highest uprightness in morality.

First of all, public morality and successful leadership are for sure closely connected. A leader with virtue is likely to be honored by people, which would contribute his stable leadership. In other words, without morally justifiable principles, one can barely maintain authority as his action conflicts with the public conscience. Consider many leaders, such as Adolf Hitler, whom most people would consider egregious violators of public morality by committing the unprecedented genocide of at least 5.5 million Jews and millions of other victims whom he and his followers deemed socially undesirable. Such leaders forfeit their leadership as a result of the immoral means by which they obtained or wielded their power. To be more specific, had a leader lost the trust of people, his decision will be scrutinized, his motives will be doubted, and his leadership will be ineffective subsequently.

Moreover, the leader has a social responsibility to be morally upright in order to set a good example for the society as a whole. All the people who deal with him, be those working under him or the general public, look up to him. Such an official needs to be exemplary by setting standards of morals and ethics. This is because a good leader should act as a motivator and the best motivation is that rules and regulations are provided by the one who practices the regulations himself. But Bill Clinton was considered an outstanding president, even with his involvement in the Lewinsky Scandal and his image being smeared in the eyes of the people. Thus, my opponents could cite Mr. Clinton as an excuse for being a powerful leader without morals and integrity. However, this kind of effectiveness is meteoric. In the following presidential election, not only Clinton but also his peers were infected by the scandal, for the votes for the Democratic Party candidates dropped notably. Not surprisingly, he admitted his mistake and finally he, too stuck to morality to salvage his lost pride.

However, it is unrealistic to demand highest or complete pureness in politicians’ morality. In Machiavellians’ political thoughts, it is of most importance for politicians to maintain their power and orderliness of the state instead of pursuing justice. Some prominent figures lie, not for self-serving reasons, but in attempt to secure what they regard as morally important political goals. In elections, for instance, one cannot expect everything come from the candidates is true. They are usually using political tactics or tricks to convince the electorate to vote for them, while they could conduct some meaningful policies such as health care system, education equality, unemployment relief and other programs that are benevolent to the society. Therefore, as long as a leader’s merits outweigh his flaws, it is plausible to consider him honorable.

In a final analysis, yet it is too ideal for a leader to maintain the highest morality, such ethic standards do consolidate his power and he has the social responsibility to be a moral role model for the public. Just as Franklin Roosevelt said, “The presidency is not merely an administrative office, it is pre-eminently a place of moral leadership.” After all, an effective leader needs to be a good example.