To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Leadership has been a source of collective change in society for many decades. Often times, these leaders have had diverse and often times catostrophic consequences for their fellow man. Scientists have long evaluated the qualities that comprise a leader who will benefit the wider society, respect, tolerance and moral judgement are all considerations in the ambiguity of leadership selection. However, I contest that moral judgement is in most instances, a more beneficial trait that fosterng respect from their peers.

Sound moral judgment has been a foundational quality in the more collective advancements of society throughout recent history. Indeed, many of societies largest social advancements - when considering equality- have been spearheaded by leaders with an exceptional moral compass. Mahatami Ghandi, Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King were all leaders with an exceptionall sound moral judgement's who raged against the opressive norms of their respective societies in direct contradicition to the views of their peers. If these educated and insightful individuals had paid close attention to maintaining the respect of their peers, perhaps we would not have seen such steadfast views. Indeed, the very idea of a moral compass is predicated on understanding the contentious realm of prevailing social norms, and choosing to to take the morally correct path irregardless of social consequences from one's peers.

A leader's role is to lead, and therefore, often places him/her in a position of heirarchical advantage. Specifcally, leaders must often make the correct choice irregardless of their peer relationships. If one overly values the consideration of their peers, one places themselves in an untenable position with those which they lead. Their foundational task has become marred by the formalities of social relationships and recripocity to maintain peer respect in lieue of potential progression.

Take the example of the most archetypal leader in the world, a politician, if they begin value maintaining the respect of their peers more than their moral judgment, they will soon turn to a system whereby the elites views become more valued than the collective good.

However, this is not too say that maintaining respect is not a part of the leadership role. If one can establish and maintain respect, realtionships become easier, decisions become more collective, and the group benefits. Nonetheless, as one can see from the seminal studies of Tajfel and Turner, focusing too inwardly on one's own group is instrumental in creating conflict.

With this consideration in mind, the ability to foster and maintain respect is valuable in so far that it assists with maintaining relationships if they serve the wider purpose, but should rarely, if ever, supersede one's sound moral judgment.