To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A good leader is the one who takes responsibility for the society. The prompt states that an official who has moral laws and good ethical values will be an effective leader. In my opinion, I completely agree with the statement and argue that to become a good leader, official must stand on his grounds and follow his moral values.

To begin, people vote in a belief that the leader whom they chose will do some good for them. Every person votes for their leader by trusting him or her and it is the elected leader’s responsibility to fulfill the people’s necessities. For instance, if a person is elected but if he or she didn’t do anything for the society then people eventually start losing the trust in the government. No matter what how good the party is, it is the individual leader that creates an impact on the people. The above example states that, a leader must stand on his ground and should take care of the bare necessities.

Further, an effective leader is the one who has good ethics and moral values. Even if there is any chance of chaos or trouble, he or she must not go in an illegal way which will have an impact in the future. For instance, if there is any trouble to a particular area because of floods etc, the chosen leader must be the first one to take an initiative and help the people.

However, there are few cases where an effective leader is thrown back. Because of the corruption, leader who stands by his moral values will be out of the picture. For instance, in India, people will always elect on the basis of the money given to them rather than the quality of the official. In this way, a good leader will not be give money for the votes. But at the end, it is the person who gives bribe will be elected. The above mentioned example states that, how good the leader is, it all depends on the nature of the people.

Thus, in my conclusion, I strongly support the view that to become an effective leader a person must have good moral and ethical values so that people will be happy enough about it and will vote for the same leader if successful in the given tenure.