The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An interest in any particular object or concept can be an instrument for arousing the passions in an individual, leading one to ideas of epic proportions. These particulars do not even need to be something sought out, or esoteric, but can be of very banal and quotidian origins. So, I agree with the statement at hand for the most part but would like to distance my position slightly from completely agreeing since the suggestion that the 'best' ideas arise from a penchant for commonplace objects is too strong and might blind one from looking at the entirety of what insinuates ideas and creative thoughts.

To begin, everyday concerns are a major part of our conscious perception, and therefore, we are bound to, at one time or the other, draw inspiration from them and act on those interests. For instance, the myriad of maladies that have existed as natural and normal, have been a source for discovering medicine to cure them, and devices as well as fields of study to mitigate them. From the discovery of the Small-pox vaccine to the advent of bio-weaponry, all the events have been triggered in one way, or the other, by inspirations drawn from the sickness that once struck man into the oblivion with despair and a resignation to fatalism. Moreover, most of our Engineering has been, for the most part, an innovation of the commonplace; a modification of the plebeian to render inconvenience futile. Numerous inventions ranging from the wheel to the airplane has been a result of man being heavily inspired into action by something that was so trite that it was almost considered inviolate until inspiration triumphed over subservience to fate.

Furthermore, a passionate involvement in what seems normal can arouse one's curiosity into diving deeper into the realms of knowledge to draw out the essence of truth; initiating a chain of actions that can lead to newer ideas. This can be exemplified by an anecdote from Einstein's life. As a child, with bewildering creativity, Einstein began dreaming about what it would be like to travel from the Sun to the Earth on a solar beam. The Sun rises every day and sets everyday. The lights reach the Earth in approximately 8 minutes. These facts that Einstein probably knew about made him go into using what he had seen and thinking up new scenarios that could tantalize his thinking. This 'thought experiment' led him to think if light were travelling in a straight path or if it would warp around space. Consequently, he propounded a theoretical basis for the phenomenon of interference, which is a fundamental understanding when one goes into studying quantum mechanics. Not only this, but his intrigue with the mundane, allowed him to experiment with it to analyze the relativity to publish the Special theory of relativity in 1905 followed by the General theory of relativity in 1913.

That being said, there are limits to the statement since it would be impairing to suggest that the 'best' ideas come out of observing commonplace things. There are malefic consequences on various fields like Mathematics which is purely theoretical and submerges itself into something that could not be, such as an N dimensional hyperspace where N can be any number as long as the math is consistent. It also undermines various fields of research which are arcane and require specialization being locked up in a laboratory, such as microbiology and astronomy. An esoteric and punctilious study of fields can draw our attention to great ideas as well as proved by the studies that are funded currently all around the world.

Therefore, there are multiple advantages to studying the commonplace things to draw inspiration from. It can elicit many obscure perspectives and help one build upon them so there can be birth of new ideas and concepts. But there are also deep disadvantages to suggesting that only commonplace things are responsible for the BEST ideas. Thus, I firmly echo my position and suggest that I agree with the issue at hand for the most part; expecting there can be some compromise in the absolute language being used in the statement.