Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Judgment made on any piece of work is quite valuable as it gives an insight into the work from a perspective other than the one that conceived it. The objectivity of critical judgment has great utility when it comes to the scrutiny and rectification of the specific areas of the field. The issue at hand implies that the critical judgment being made on a work in a field is only valuable if it is made by an expert in that field. While expert opinions are quite valuable, it does not ascertain the futility of those proposed by a neophyte, and so, I place myself at disagreement with the statement at hand for a couple of reasons.

To begin, not being an expert does not debase the value of one's critical judgment, as long as the judgment reached is based on valid premise and cogent arguments. For example, a fledgling in a field of art, who has just recently picked up a book on critiquing paintings, could do his or her homework really well and establish a proper conclusion for the similarities they see between, say, a Matisse and a Picasso. Furthermore, to validate this better, both the expert and the beginner might reach the same conclusion through critical judgment. Are we to then question the expertise of the expert or suspect the callow critic for disguising as a beginner when they were actually supposed to be an expert for years and punish them for indulging in such folly?

Further, critical judgment is subject to a large audience not professionally involved in the field for multiple disciplines like theatre, arts, drama etc., and therefore, must court opinions other than that of the experts. The judgment of the people who are the audience of the art will inevitably have opinions of the art and the artist. And these judgments should be taken into account if one wants to adhere to the masses that one wishes to create the art for in the first place. Should an artist lock his paintings up in a secret room where he only lets experts in and asks them to judge his work? What will the point of art be if it were not to reflect life and let life view itself in the image?

In addition to this, only expert opinion might bring bias to the field since the expert is likely to side with the decision that is going to be beneficial to the field he or she has spent years nurturing and developing. Take, for instance, the bias that could be created in the field of scientific discovery. The bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki were not out of sheer desperation, but scientific inquisitiveness of the 'experts' that wanted to test the fire power that they had. Had public opinions been called for, who were not 'experts', the answers on whether killing millions of people for the sake of science is worth it would have been quite different.

Although some might argue that professionals with years of experience have better critical judgment compared to someone who came in yesterday and his opinions are to be regarded properly, that is just what they are - opinions. Experts, like any other human being, are fallible and therefore should be taken as so. And even if they are more conscious about their opinions and could provide insights based on it, fresh perspectives should be welcomed and should not be shunned on the basis of lack of time taken to develop them. Thus, while critical judgment from experts are a source of invaluable resource, one should not treat the fresher and more diverse perspectives with oversight.