The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from people they lead

While is seems to be a compelling argument that the best leaders would want and would encourage feedback from the people they lead in order to successfully lead people, it may not always be plausible to implement and would also depend on the quality of feedback one gets.

Encouraging feedback from the people is absolutely essential in identifying target areas that need to be worked on. Take a very small scale example of a student society. A student society always runs surveys at the end of the semester in order to engage with their members and in order to assess how well the society has been able to cater to the needs and wants of their members. The best leaders of student societies are not those who only encourage feedback from people but also act on the feedback to make improvements in the society for the following semester. Encouraging feedback opens up different channels of communication in order to discuss innovative ideas that could be taken forward. The relation of a principle investigator with his or her laboratory is one such situation in which this can be practiced. Without feedback and discussion from the people the group leader leads, one cannot identify what ground level science needs working on. This can be extended to any sort of administrative position. Administration is viewed as the “leaders” and among the paper work and the admin, in order to be able to successful address issues, the leaders need to encourage feedback from the people they lead.

Having no feedback or communication channel between leaders and the people can be deleterious for society. Historically we can draw on examples from monarchies and dictatorships to illustrate this point. The then leaders, be it a monarch such as Loius of France or a dictator such as Mussolini, had no feedback and did not encourage feedback and this hierarchical structure where there was no communication has had disastrous effects on the course of history.

Indeed one could argue, in governing a country, it may not be feasible to assess the target areas that need working on as a society through mere feedback from the citizens and that what matter to individuals may not align with what may benefit the society as a whole and under this circumstance, encouraging feedback or not makes no difference to the sort of leader one is or may become. Often, feedback is taken as a joke. Take feedback on the internet for example. There are countless trolls and bots out there that hinder the process of collecting feedback. Even besides the trolls, often people may give critical feedback but have no alternatives or solutions. For example, complaining about the state of poverty in a country on a feedback form does no good for the leader trying to address the issue. However, if one can give constructive criticism of a poverty related policy that he or she thinks is not working on ground levels that can be modified or replaced with something better, that is the sort of feedback that the best leaders should encourage and act upon.

On the whole, the argument that the best leaders are those who encourage feedback from those they lead is true, however, the quality of feedback and criticism needs to be addressed in the argument as getting feedback that is not constructive would not change the sort of leader one can be.