The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Leaders are those who are responsible for the growth of a community, organization, society, etc. The decision taken by such leaders is crucial. And while making such decisions, sometimes it is best if they take inputs from their followers, rather than making their own decision or from someone else. So I strongly believe that leaders should consider the feedback from their followers in order to achieve greater things.

For instance, being a software developer, I had the opportunity to work on a product which had like 4000 customers. And our company CEO's main focus was on customer demands, rather than providing some fancy features which customers did not want. It was always customer-centered innovation, the reason behind the successful sales and also brand value that it had earned over the years. So this approach of getting continuous feedback had enabled the development team to know what is expected by customers in the market, so we were always ahead of many other competitors.

Another instance, the famous Indian ruler Sri Krishnadevaraya of the Vijayanagara Empire was known for all the developments he had done during his time. He often used to arrange public meetings to get to know the people better, and gather requirements about the things that they were demanding to lead a better life. Krishnadevaraya was munificent, he always accepted the feedback and worked for the welfare of his followers. His principles are still followed by many. During Wartime, he used to get feedback from his ministers to decide on whether to attack or defend. This had helped him vastly in expanding the empire. Almost entire South India was under his control during his tenure.

Feedback loop is required for the betterment of an individual as well as for the society. Hence political leaders often meet their voters, to get to know their problems. So that they can put the same question in front of higher authority to get some funding so that they can solve the people's problems.

Sometimes people often give bad advices also, to defame the leader for their own agenda. But majority of the feedbacks will be from wellwishers. Hence leaders can rely on such feedbacks. With all the above examples I am convinced that feedbacks are very important for any leader to mark his legacy in history, so every leader should encourage feedback from their followers.