Different people have different opinion about different things. If such people come together and put there own viewpoint in the discussion, this give rise to an argument. The argument never wield itself, just like the gun never kill people, but it is the people who kill people with guns. If such an argument end up by convincing the person with opposite viewpoint, then it is considered to be a great triumph.

Communication plays a vital role in conveying your point of view to others. It is very important to focus more on how you put your point rather than what you want to point. The same thing can be said in many different ways. You should choose your word wisely based on your targeted audience. For example, if you want make a sell of the pen to a writer, then you just have to tell him how fast the pen is, but if you want to sell the same pen to a penman, then you should more focus on how beautifully he can write. In this way, your communication come into picture and help you out.

But people are opinionated about some very sensitive topics of the society and are not in the willingness to change their viewpoint. In such cases, it is very difficult to convince, rather the people are not in the condition to even listen to the other aspect of the topic. Consider for example, religion, people do not want to listen any wrong thing about the practices they are doing in the name of religion. They do not want to know the other side of the coin. In such cases, it is useless to jump into such argument.

There are some people who are professionally trained to convince other with their viewpoint.For example lawyers worked hard to collect the evidences to prove their points, there are psychologist who can play with your mind to change our viewpoint. They are paid to prove their point.

But not all the people who argued are professionally trained or good at communication. They just have an opinion which they want to prove. If you are such a person, then try to find out the reason that give birth to your opinion. For example, you think that the sky is blue but another person might think that the sky is black. In this case, you both are right, but you must convince the other person that you are talking about the sky color in day and he is arguing about the color of the sky in the night. In this way, you can convince the person and win the argument.

In summary, I should said that if you want to win the argument by convincing other with an opposite viewpoint, you should find out the reason that create the viewpoint and then choose your word wisely to put your point.