The best way for a society to prepare its young people

for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is

by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not

competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Every society is governed by their respective leaders. Leaders running the society, at some point of time were also fledgling. So what made them attain such an estimable position? Certainly, the understanding and cooperating with their colleagues and staffs made them what they are now. I mostly agree with the prompt stating that the most suitable way to prepare the upcoming generation for leadership in any industry is by inculcating the personality of cooperation for two reasons. However, I do concede that at some point of time competitiveness comes into picture as an instance of gaining maximum votes in an election.

First of all, to prepare youngsters for the role of leadership, a major skill is to understand the demands of inter-departmental officials and fulfill the demands. Thus, cooperation is the key skill maintaining the relations between various departments of an organization. For instance, a Chief Executive Officer in a Tech Company has to critically understand the company's sundry of tasks in order to execute with an efficient way. Company is supported by many teams like marketing, operations, software, design and various others. In order to avoid an imbroglio, a CEO has to cooperate with these teams in order to understand each departmental updates that are currently going on and after this he/she takes the crucial decisions for the betterment of the company.

Secondly, cooperative skills increases the confidence of the leader's colleagues and employees. By constantly keeping in touch with the industry partners and the employees, they get a sense of motivation and their productivity increases because of a sense of gratification in employees arises. Employees feel that their work or contribution is valued. Thus,youngsters who haven't seen the world, if taught to be cooperative, can make differences in their future and benefit the organization as well

However, in some cases the sense of cooperation can seem to be futile. There are many cases where competitive mindset can change the game. For example, Reliance Industry was the pioneer of petrochemical industry in India in early 2000s. However, now Reliance Industry has become a giant conglomorate of numberous industries from FMCG to Petrochemicals and fashion. This is because of the competitiveness and cooperating with different small scale industries. If the owner of Reliance did not focus on how to be a leader in an entire nation, he would have kept running the same petrochemical industry and the fate would be other way round of what it is now.

In conclusion, young people should be entreated with developing the cooperative thinking as to maintain good relations and further increase the chances of growing together with the employees.