Some car manufacturing companies have stated that there is a possibility that we will see flying cars in the future. Why is this going to happen? Will it be a positive or negative development?

Automotive industry is advancing quickly in terms of innovation from producing combustion cars further into electric vehicles and might also evolve into flying cars too. The main motive for this evolution is to reduce the modern traffic crisis and avoid unfortunate circumstances like accidents and hence I believe that this is a positive development towards the future.

Due to ever-increasing population demands, the automotive industries have produced cars persistently without ever giving a thought of the negative impact it creates in majority of the cities. Thus, there has been a rise in the congestion on major roads since several years which impacts a person’s livelihood as well as hinders the professional life too. For example, earlier in Bombay when there used to be a limited number of cars, people used to cover the entire corners of the city within few minutes contrasting to the present situation where it takes up hours and hours to cover the same distance. Furthermore, with the increase in cars there has been also a commensurate increase in accidents devastating lives of many humans. Hence, in order to reduce these types of situations and facilitate faster commute while providing a safer environment to travel, flying cars could become a savor for many individuals.

Other than that, it can prove to be advantageous in many aspects. Firstly, introducing flying cars would also make commuting during the emergency situations a more reliable transportation medium. In addition, the travelling distance will also get reduced with the help of flying cars. Furthermore, it will also open up inter-continental travelling opportunities which could serve as a small personalized airplane. Finally, lack of parking facilities which is one of the major problem of the current traffic in the world, could also be attenuated by providing flexible parking space for those cars, for example a rooftop parking facility.

To conclude, the probability of flying cars would indeed prove to be a boon in future because of the aforementioned reasons. However, there are chances that the initial investment of possessing the car will be high, limiting the affordability.