In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Automotive sector is transcending from combustion vehicles to electric vehicles and currently there are also recent developments in automated vehicles for the future. While the driverless vehicles have certain positive aspects, the disadvantages of using automated cars outweighs its advantages for couple of reasons.

If all the vehicles become driverless, there would be consequences which are inevitable. According to the present scenario of the developments in driverless vehicles, there are more chances of unfortunate incidents to happen such as tragic accidents. There will be chances that the algorithm couldn’t recognize and react to an impromptu situation such as a sudden animal encounter between the roads which can incur the loss to humans as well as animals. Furthermore, the thriving employment by many car rental services and private sector taxi providers would be affected drastically. There will be chances of professional drivers getting unemployed due to these cars and many firms such as Ola and Uber will get collapsed.

At the same time, advantages can be limited. The demand for these vehicles will increase drastically in future as no driving license will be required and eventually, many individuals can buy driverless vehicles without knowing how to drive. In addition, automated cars will facilitate flexible working hours. For instance, businessmen can work in their cars without apprehension and housewives can take care of their children in car without getting anxious about the surrounding conditions.

To summarize, according to the current developments, there will be consequences of adopting automated vehicles and as far as I am concerned, its disadvantages subside its advantages. Unless a further development is made, the situation won’t get improved.