Some employers want to be able to contact their staffs at all times, especially holidays. Does this approach has more advantages than disadvantages?

Round the clock connectivity due to advancements in information and technology is a boon and bane at the same time. Employees especially are expected by some superiors to stay connected with them at all times. Continuous reporting may be valued at times, but it has its demerits, especially for the employee.

The impractically huge targets have led to this trend. When team leaders are themselves overloaded with the pressure of increasing monetary figures, they pass on the same to their team. At times, the follow ups at odd hours are justified, but most of the time, team leaders use the technique to build pressure by making professional calls outside of their colleagues' office hours. However, the results are likely to backfire and are a major reason for skilled workers leaving jobs.

Furthermore, work-related communication outside of working hours deprives employees of their right to spend time with themselves. The created professional stress builds up and takes a toll on personal relationships and the opportunity to relax and rejuvenate which leads to deteriorating mental health and eventually affects employee productivity.

However, some employees choose to work that way. They are coined as 'workaholics'. They strive to push the limits and their work is their life. For example, the CEO of Tesla, Elon Musk works 80 hours per week, and is a hard taskmaster as he leads his company. One advantage of such an approach is that the constant reporting may be an advantage for team leaders or company heads.

Overall, although people in the management have reasons for the work policies they devise for the company, it is advisable to provide a scope for balance between professional and personal life.