The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

As per reference from Abraham Lincon's quote - "Organization is of the people, by the people, and for the people". Any Organization's Future depends on its leading board as they are the ones who take the end decision and are going to decide where Organization ends up to. Coming to the prompt, I agree with the Author that, For making youth leadership ready they much work with a sense of cooperation rather than competition. For supporting my though below are the two reasons:

Every Company has a leadership board of members not only one decision-making authority. For any coming crucial decision which on holds the company's profit-loss or reputation, board members of deciding committee come together and discuss possible solutions. In this situation, If CEO or any authoritative person starts being dogmatic with their views then this conflict will hinder the best possible solution for the company's benefit. This conflict may take a political turn and will part the company's employees in different views. For the given situation if a decision is being made by taking every point of view into consideration then the authority can take a decision based on thinking which suits the best.

If we take the example of any political party, Lead of the party must be the one who runs the party by taking it altogether not by degrading other who opposes his view. If the leader starts taking his own party's people as their competition then this will be hazardous for the party's future as this conflict in view in one team will benefit the opposite party and they will try to play a "divide and rule" strategy. therefore, it comes to a leader's rudimentary work to be in cooperation and also make others to do the same.

In contrast to this, the leader should also take charge of every next step taking his position into consideration. Leaders must be that much dominant that every person of the team should consider his words as the final decision and work according to that.

Taking all the above points into consideration, It is safe to say that being a co-operative essential skill in every leader as taking all along together is the only way of success for any organization.