The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The future of a society largely depends on the development process its young generation goes through. The prompt suggests that the best way to prepare our young people is to incorporate the sense of togetherness and morality to work together instead of injecting a sense of competing against each other. Even though cooperation is largely needed for a peaceful society, importance of learning to be competitive, I believe, is far more important to overcome the obstacles and being able to get to the leadership positions.

From our childhood we are taught to compare ourselves and compete with others. In our schools, we are assessed based on our achieved scores. The student who gets better marks are called the better students, while the students with poor marks are looked down and treated as unacceptable. And this continues through our college life, to graduation and even after that, in job market. One needs to enrich his resume, prove himself better to get to a position where he can then get the chance to contribute to society. So without the knowledge of how to compete with others, one cannot simply find himself at the position to serve the society.

Secondly, when a leader is making decision, he needs to deal with numerous different opinions and not all of them are equally effective. He needs to choose and might need to go against a decision backed by majority, for greater good. A sense of competing with others, instill a sense of sound argument in the leader that enables him to prove his point without hurting other's feelings and skew the favors to his side. Without properly learning the art of competition a person cannot excel in showing this subtlety of winning arguments.

Leading from front is not easy-may it be a whole country or a small corporation or even an office room. It needs the collaboration of everyone working within the system. The person who knows how to work collaboratively, knows to get things done in a harmonious manner. A dissonance in any system leads to ultimate failure. So knowing how to work together is important. However, this important trait is only applicable for that person who has got to that top leading position by competing with others and proving that he is a better leader than anyone else in that system. For example, a captain of cricket team needs to perform better, consistently to first ensure a fixed position in the team and get the trust of the coach and selection committee. Once he establishes the fact that he is more capable and responsible than others, only than he gets the chance to lead the team from front, make decisions and inspire others to work as a team and win matches by playing collectively and selflessly for the team.

To conclude, sense of cooperation comes later, knowledge of defeating others to achieve the leading position comes first. So, the best way is to prepare our young generations for leadership is to train them for this highly competitive world with a sense of respect and collaboration.