The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

Throughout the history of human species, questions on the characteristics of a good leadership has been poised. Some people opine that a leader shuld have a sense of togertherliness while others suggests that for an individual to be a leader, he/she should outstrip others in every ramifications. This has led to the question on how best to raise the younger generations to be leaders. I believe that it is more important for a leader to possess a sense of cooperation than competition for two main reasons.

To begin, it is important that a sense of cooperation should be impacted in young people than a sense of competition because for an individual to lead successfully, the people in should be able to relate their needs to te leader. And a leader being perceived a competitive will stanch the followers from avering their needs. And this could untimately, impede the success of the society. For instance, during the regime of Musa Yaradua in Nigeria, there was a propsal on the removal of fuel subsidy despite the fact that it was going to affect the citizens for a short period of time in terms of inflation, the people knew that the plan was to divert the revenue to other sectors that would lead to the development of the country. The Labour Congress were able to pacify the labour force because the government promoted cooperation in her citizens. Therefore, it is important to promote cooperation rather than competition in citizens for the successful leadership of an economy and its improvement.

Furthermore, cooperation should be promoted because it leads to a harmonious government. For instance, in 1963 after Nigeria gained her independence. The people were unsure if the new government favour her citizens or if they were just in for personal gains. And because there was competition for the leadership position between the northerners, westerners and the easterners, it lead to a coup which ultimately led to the civil war of 1964. hence cooperation should be encouraged rather than competition.

Nonetheless, encouraging a little sense of competition in younger generations prevent a sense of complacency. If cooperation is merely preached as the gospel for leadership, propective leaders can become complacent and not try to improve other aspects of their leadership skills because they know that no one will try to overthro them in their position.

In conclusion, the question on which skill should be imbibed in younger generation to make them leaders is a controversial one. However, I believe that cooperation should be more encouraged than competition.