The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders are those people who can persuade others. I only partially agree with the statement that a sense of cooperation is more relevant for young people in terms of leadership than competitiveness. This question has two contradicting answers: the first is related to the personal experience of future leaders and the second is about social benefits from different kinds of leadership.

Leaders represent others in different areas of their lives. For this reason the neccessary quality of a leader is his trustworthiness. With good leadership people should feel that everything under control. However, there can often be only bad solutions and no leader can repair it. For example, the Covid-19 restrictions were extremely unpopular in many countries and spoiled the reputation for many country leaders. I think that cooperation in this situations improved the overall situation and helped to cure as many people as possible. However, the leadership became weaker - and a lot of anti-official points of view acquired more weight (e.g. antivaccine movements). Whether people want it or not, the leader often comes not from long thoughtfull duscussions but rather from chaotic competition, founded on the people's feel of security.

We should define, what is the desirable outcome for the society. Leaders, originated from cooperation, are preferrable - they probably can listen to each other better and do not tend to make bad decisions in the spheres outside of their scope. However, the fact that they are not always ready to produce a popular decision as rapidly as possible can harm their career. 'Strong leaders' - those who became a leader from competition, can be more direct in their actions and to seem more reliable for their nations.

To conclude, I think that the main question which stands before the society is not how it should prepare its leaders, but rather what leaders it needs. If the society wants leaders with strong competences and the ability to the dialogue, it should instill in youngsters a sense of cooperation. However, more often the society wants to have a trustworthy leader who can decide for them in every situation. For this goal people should have more energetic and competitive leaders.